Return to Japan: Day 7

Standard

(This was supposed to be posted on February 23, but unfortunately, I was having Internet connection issues.)

Today was another boring day, so I’ll try to keep it short.

I woke up way before my alarm, around 6 am. This actually gave me ample time to get organized for the day, particularly checking out and returning to Kyoto. Breakfast was served at 7:30 am in my room again. It was also incredibly delicious but my stomach still felt full from last night’s dinner, so I did not get to finish it. I simply focused on eating the parts of it I liked best!

Yesterday, I had left one bath, Kou-no-Yuu, for today. Silly me forgot to check the schedule last night, and I realized this morning that Kou-no-Yuu is closed every Tuesday, which was today. Oops. The other baths I did not get to try were either closed until the afternoon or were a bit far, so returned to Gosho-no-Yuu for a bath since I liked their outdoor bath next to the waterfall. The outdoor baths are easier for me to get into because the cold winter air outside balances out the scalding hot water.

Anyway, I returned to the ryokan after to change out of my yukata and back into regular clothes. I then checked out and walked back to the train station, checking out the shops along the way.

The train ride was uneventful and I got back to Kyoto around 3:10 pm. I thought briefly about taking a train to Osaka or Kobe, but decided not to. Instead, I stashed my luggage in a coin locker and walked around Kyoto Station and the nearby Yodobashi Camera department store. The Yodobashi store was actually a bit ridiculous, something like 6 floors crammed wall to wall with products. The children’s section was a cacophony of sounds and bright colours that it was literally overwhelming to me.

Anyway, I was craving okonomiyaki and found a restaurant in Kyoto Station that served it. Best decision ever. It was delicious!

  
 After, I retrieved my luggage and then had to figure out a way to get to my next hostel, all the way in the northeastern part of town. There is a bus line, but if the bus was busy (likely), it would be difficult to maneuver with my big suitcase. Thus, I decided to bite the bullet and take a taxi. The first one wasn’t too receptive to either my big luggage or the fact that I was a foreigner (hard to tell when the driver only speaks Japanese), but the second one was very helpful and drove me to where I needed to be. It ended up being about ¥2300.

Anyway, this hostel is quite nice but there seems to be a lot of students here who look no older than 13 or 14. I feel old.

Leave a Reply

